Latest Country News

Josh Turner Announces Country Cover Album

Josh Turner Announces Classic Country Cover Album, ‘Country State Of Mind’

The album even features vocals from Randy Travis.

In a Facebook Live on Wednesday afternoon (6/17), Josh Turner revealed the plans for his upcoming album, Country State of Mind. Set for release on August 21 via MCA Nashville, the 12 song project finds the booming baritone honoring a selection of classic country icons including his “Mount Rushmore” of country artists: Randy Travis, John Anderson, Johnny Cash, Vern Gosdin, and Hank Williams.

“I’ve always said that any song you hear coming from my voice, you’re going to hear bits and pieces of those five guys,” shared the singer in a press release. “They taught me how to be Josh Turner.”

The project is not only a celebration of some of country music’s most iconic voices, but also one that highlights the brightest budding ones in the genre. Maddie & Tae, Runaway June, Chris Janson and Allison Moorer all join Turner on different songs featured on Country State of Mind. But the classic voices also make an appearance with John Anderson, Kris Kristofferson and even Randy Travis lending their vocals to the project. Travis’ appearance marks his first recording session following his debilitating stroke in 2013.

“Randy has always been my hero. He was the reason I wanted to become a country singer,” explained Turner. “He’s an inspiring figure, not just to me but to a lot of people, so to have him sing on this record is pretty special.”

Josh Turner; Cover art courtesy of MCA Nashville

Pre-order Josh Turner’s Country State of Mind now.

Country State of Mind Track Listing:

  1. I’m No Stranger To The Rain
  2. I’ve Got It Made (Duet with John Anderson)
  3. Why Me (Duet with Kris Kristofferson)
  4. Country State Of Mind (Duet with Chris Janson)
  5. I Can Tell By The Way You Dance
  6. Alone And Forsaken (Featuring Allison Moorer)
  7. Forever And Ever, Amen (With Special Guest Randy Travis)
  8. Midnight In Montgomery
  9. Good Ol’ Boys
  10. You Don’t Seem To Miss Me (Featuring Runaway June)
  11. Desperately (Featuring Maddie & Tae)
  12. The Caretaker
    *Produced by Kenny Greenberg


No comments yet.

On behalf of the Independent Artists Worldwide we thank you for taking time out to comment on this article, we all appreciate it very much

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Enter your email address to follow your news and receive notifications of Breaking News

Visitors in Last 10 Minutes

Pix 4 U

June 2020

%d bloggers like this: